Wednesday, February 26, 2014

Update about 'Irish Government: Repeal and replace the Control of Dogs Act with better legislation.' on Change.org‏

from Páraic Ó Súilleabhá​in

I have made a submission to the Committee for the Environment, Community and Local Government for a hearing regarding the current legislation (over 16000 word document). I have outlined all the evidence worldwide. We have supporting statements from approx 100 world organisations currently, who are all in total opposition to breed specific legislation.

I just need your help one last time. This is what will make the difference and make this a success. I need you to please send a quick email to one (or a few) of the people listed below. They are the individuals responsible for the current legislation and have the power to remove breed specific legislation in Ireland. You can email whoever you want, location does not matter as it relates to a committee.

What I need you to do is:

o Email them explaining why you feel breed specific legislation (i.e. Control of Dogs Act Regulations 1998) should be removed from law
o Ask for a reference number for your email (this is important, and will make them reply)
o Above all please be polite, they may not know anything about the issues yet

If you could do this it would be amazing and greatly appreciated. It would take a matter of minutes, but the consequences could be huge.

All the best,

Páraic

Names and email address of the committee members:

Contact the one or ones that you wish below.

Cork: Michael McCarthy (Labour)
Email: michael.mccarthy@oireachtas.ie

Waterford: Paudie Coffey (Fine Gael)
Email: paudie.coffey@oireachtas.ie

Tipperary: Noel Coonan (Fine Gael)
Email: noel.coonan@oireachtas.ie

Laois-Offaly: Barry Cowen (Fianna Fáil)
Email: barry.cowen@oireachtas.ie

Laois-Offaly: Marcella Corcoran Kennedy (Fine Gael)
Email: marcella.corcorankennedy@oireachtas.ie

Roscommon-Leitrim: Luke Flanagan (Independent)
Email: lukeming.flanagan@oireachtas.ie

Dublin: Kevin Humphreys (Labour)
Email: kevin.humphreys@oireachtas.ie

Sligo-Leitrim: Tony McLoughlin (Fine Gael)
Email: tony.mcloughlin@oireachtas.ie

Mayo: Michelle Mulherin (Fine Gael)
Email: michelle.mulherin@oireachtas.ie

Kildare: Catherine Murphy (Independent)
Email: catherine.murphy@oireachtas.ie

Louth: Gerald Nash (Labour)
Email: gerald.nash@oireachtas.ie

Kildare South: Seán Ó Fearghaíl (Fianna Fáil)
Email: sean.ofearghail@oireachtas.ie

Laois-Offaly: Brian Stanley (Sinn Féin)
Email: brian.stanley@oireachtas.ie

Meath: Peadar Tóibín (Sinn Féin)
Email: peadar.toibin@oireachtas.ie

Longford-Westmeath: James Bannon (Fine Gael)
Email: james.bannon@oireachtas.ie


This message was sent by Páraic Ó Súilleabháin using the Change.org system. You received this email because you signed a petition started by Páraic Ó Súilleabháin on Change.org: "Irish Government: Repeal and replace the Control of Dogs Act with better legislation.." Change.org does not endorse contents of this message.


No comments:

Post a Comment