Monday, September 16, 2013

Texas - Stop Inhumane City Ordinance Against Feral Cats‏


Source: Council asks for ordinance on feral cats

To: jhull@copperascovetx.gov; cmeredith@copperascovetx.gov; mpeterson@copperascovetx.gov; gkent@copperascovetx.gov; dpalmer@copperascovetx.gov; ksmith@copperascovetx.gov; jschmitz@copperascovetx.gov; fseffrood@copperascovetx.gov; animal_control@copperascovetx.gov;

Subject: Texas - Stop Inhumane City Ordinance Against Feral Cats

City of Copperas Cove
Mayor & City Council
Mayor John Hull
City Council Cheryl Meredith
City Council Mark Peterson
City Council Gary Kent
City Council Danny Palmer
City Council Kenn Smith
City Council Jim Schmitz
City Council Frank Seffrood
Animal Control

To Whom It Concerns,

The City Council in Copperas Cove, Texas, amended an animal control ordinance attempting to stop trap, neuter, and release (TNR) programs for feral cats in the city. The ordinance seeks to forbid such activities from taking place, such as releasing a spayed feral cat within the city limits and feeding feral cats. Those who violate the ordinance can be fined $200.

Feeding bans don’t stop cats from “multiplying”; neutering does. Trap-Neuter-Return is the only effective way to stabilize feral cat populations. Since TNR requires scheduled feeding to be successful, it is impossible to carry out with a feeding ban in place.

One unspayed female cat, her mate, and all of their offspring can produce 370,092 cats in just seven years.

Feeding bans are counterproductive and unenforceable, wasting taxpayer dollars without doing anything to fix the underlying issue. The only effective way to stabilize cat populations and keep cats out of shelters is through humane programs like TNR (Trap/Neuter/Release).

I ask The City Council in Copperas Cove to revisit the amended animal control ordinance and remove feeding bans and allow for Trap/Neuter/Release programs!

Source: http://kdhnews.com/copperas_cove_herald/news/council-asks-for-ordinance-on-feral-cats/article_f57d28d4-0ae1-11e3-8f8a-001a4bcf6878.html

Thank you for taking the time to consider this urgent appeal.

Sincerely,

NAME/COUNTRY


No comments:

Post a Comment